Экскурсия по Цистерне Базилика

Обычная стоимость билета: 16 евро.

Экскурсия
Бесплатно с Istanbul E-pass

Istanbul E-pass включает тур по Цистерне Базилика с англоговорящим профессиональным гидом. Для получения подробной информации, пожалуйста, проверьте "Часы работы и встреча".

Цистерна Базилика Стамбул

Он расположен в самом сердце исторического центра города. Это гигантская цистерна в историческом городе Стамбул. В Цистерне размещено 336 колонн. Функция этого выдающегося сооружения заключалась в том, чтобы обеспечить питьевой водой Айя Софией. Большой дворец Palatium Magnum, а также фонтаны и бани расположены по всему городу.

Когда открывается Цистерна Базилика?

Цистерна Базилика открыта в течение всей недели.
Летний период: 09:00 - 19:00 (последний вход в 18:00)
Зимний период: 09:00 - 18:00 (последний вход в 17:00)

Сколько стоит вход в Цистерну Базилика?

Стоимость входа 190 турецких лир. Вы можете получить билет на кассе и подождать в очереди около 30 минут. Экскурсии с входом бесплатны с Istanbul E-pass.

Где находится Цистерна Базилика?

Она расположена в центре Старого города. До исторического центра Стамбула легко добраться на общественном транспорте.

  • Из отелей Старого города; cадитесь на трамвай Т1 до трамвайной станции Султанахмет. От трамвайной остановки до дворца всего 5 минут ходьбы.
  • Из отелей Таксим; Сядьте на фуникулер F1 до Kabatas и сядьте на трамвай T1 до Sultanahmet.
  • Из отелей Султанахмет; Он находится в нескольких минутах ходьбы от отелей Султанахмет.

Сколько времени нужно, чтобы посетить Цистерну, и какое лучшее время для посещения?

Посещение Цистерны займет около 15 минут, если вы посетите ее самостоятельно. Экскурсии с гидом обычно занимают около 25-30 минут. Здесь темно и узкие коридоры; Цистерну лучше увидеть, пока не людно. Примерно с 09:00 до 10:00, летом тише.

История Цистерны Базилика

Эта цистерна - отличный пример подземного водохранилища. Император Юстиниан I. (527-565) приказал построить в 532 году нашей эры. В Стамбуле есть три основные группы цистерн: надземные, подземные и открытые.

532 год нашей эры является поворотным моментом в истории Восточной Римской империи. В этом году произошел один из крупнейших бунтов Империи, Nika Riot. Одним из результатов этого бунта стало разрушение значительных зданий в городе. Собор Святой Софии, Цистерна Базилика, Ипподром и Дворец Магнум были среди разрушенных зданий. Сразу после бунта император Юстиниан I отдал приказ о ремонте или перестройке города. Этот приказ руководил большинством зданий, имевших решающее значение для города.

Нет никаких записей о вероятном существовании цистерны в точном месте. Думая, что это был центр города, некоторые должны были быть, но мы не знаем где. Дата была записана как 532 год нашей эры, что совпадает с годом восстания Ники и 3-го собора Святой Софии.

Логистика строительства в VI веке нашей эры кардинально отличалась от сегодняшней. Самой сложной частью строительства было бы высечь 6 колонн, несущих сегодня крышу. Но самым простым решением этого вопроса было бы использование рабочей силы или рабской силы. В те времена императору было относительно легко снабжать. По приказу Императора многие рабы отправились в отдаленные районы Империи. Из храмов привезли много камней и колонн. Эти колонны и камни не функционировали, в том числе 336 колонн и 336 головы Медузы.

На строительство этого фантастического здания после логистики ушло меньше года. С этого момента он начал свою основную функцию сам по себе. Это давало городу чистую воду.

Головы Медуз

Еще одной проблемой строительства был поиск колонн для здания. Некоторые столбцы были короткими, а некоторые длинными. Наличие длинных столбцов не было большой проблемой. Их можно было порезать. Но более короткие колонки были большой проблемой. Им нужно было найти основания нужной длины для конструкции. Две из найденных ими баз были Головами Медузы. Судя по стилю голов, мы можем предположить, что эти головы должны происходить из западной части Турции.

Почему голова Медузы перевернута?

По этому вопросу есть две основные идеи. Первая идея гласит, что в VI веке нашей эры христианство было основной религией. Поскольку эти головы являются символом предыдущей веры, по этой причине они перевернуты. Вторая идея более практична. Представьте, что вы перемещаете монолитный каменный блок. Как только вы доберетесь до нужного места для колонны, вы остановитесь. После того, как они перестали возводить колонну, они поняли, что голова перевернута. Исправлять голову не пришлось, потому что этого больше никто не увидит.

Плачущая колонна

Еще одна интересная колонка — плачущая колонка. Колонна не плачет, а имеет форму слезы. В Стамбуле есть 2 места, где можно увидеть эти колонны. Одна из них — Цистерна Базилика, а вторая — Беязит возле реки. Гранд Базара. Интересна история плачущей колонны здесь, в цистерне. Говорят, это символизирует слезы рабов, которые там работали. Вторая идея - колонна плачет по погибшим при строительстве.

Функция Цистерны Базилики

Сегодня мы знаем из исторических записей, что в Стамбуле более 100 цистерн. Основной целью цистерн в римскую эпоху было обеспечение города чистой водой. В Османскую эпоху эта цель изменилась.

Роль Цистерны Базилики в Османскую эпоху

По религиозным причинам функции цистерн со временем менялись. В исламе и иудаизме вода не должна ждать в хранилище, а всегда должна течь. Если вода остается застойной, это причина для людей думать, что вода грязная в исламе и иудаизме. По этой причине люди отказались от многих цистерн. Даже некоторые люди превратили цистерны в мастерские. Многие из цистерн все еще выполняли другую функцию в османскую эпоху. Из-за этого многие цистерны сегодня все еще видны.

Цистерна Базилика в голливудских фильмах

Это было место для нескольких известных фильмов, в том числе нескольких голливудских постановок. Один из самых известных — «Из России с любовью» 1963 года. Будучи вторым фильмом о Джеймсе Бонде, большая часть фильма «Россия с любовью» проходила в Стамбуле. В ролях Шон Коннери и Даниэла Бьянки. Этот фильм до сих пор считается одним из лучших фильмов о Джеймсе Бонде.

Основанный на книге Дэна Брауна, Inferno был еще одним фильмом, в котором место действия Цистерны Базилика. Цистерна была последним местом для размещения вируса, который представлял бы серьезную угрозу человечеству.

Заключительное слово

Цистерна имеет необычную историю, которая привлекает путешественников со всего мира, чтобы увидеть ее вживую. Кто бы не хотел ходить по поднятым деревянным платформам, чтобы почувствовать, как вода, капающая с арочных потолков, придает сущность исторической архитектуры? Если у вас есть страсть к фотографии, вам понравятся основания колонн с головой медузы. Не ждите больше, чтобы убить летнюю жару и получить незабываемые впечатления во время посещения Цистерны Базилика с помощью Istanbul E-pass.

Время экскурсий по Цистерне Базилика

Понедельник и среда: 08:50
вторник, четверг, пятница, суббота, воскресенье: 08:50, 12:00, 15:45
Пожалуйста, нажмите сюда посмотреть расписание всех экскурсий

Место встречи гида по электронным билетам в Стамбуле

Встретьтесь с гидом перед остановкой Busforus Sultanahmet (Старый город).
Наш гид будет держать флаг Istanbul E-pass на месте в назначенное время.
Остановка Busforus Old City находится напротив собора Святой Софии, и вы можете легко увидеть красные двухэтажные автобусы.

Важные замечания

  • Экскурсия по Цистерне Базилика проводится на английском языке.
  • Стоимость входного билета и экскурсия бесплатны с Istanbul E-pass.
  • Istanbul E-Pass доступен только с экскурсией по Цистерне Базилика.
  • Удостоверение личности с фотографией будет запрошено у ребенок , кто владеет пропуском Istanbul E-pass.
Знай, прежде чем идти

Часто задаваемые вопросы

Популярные достопримечательности Стамбула E-pass

Basilica Cistern Guided Tour

Normal ticket value: €22

Guided Tour
Free with Istanbul E-pass

Adult (7+)
- +
Child (3 - 6)
- +
Continue to payment

Istanbul E-pass includes Basilica Cistern Tour with English speaking Professional Guide. For details, please check "Hours & Meeting"

Days of the Week Tour Times
Mondays 09:00, 12:00
Tuesdays 09:00, 12:00, 15:45
Wednesdays 09:00
Thursdays 09:00, 12:00, 15:45
Fridays 09:00, 12:00, 16:30
Saturdays 09:00, 12:00, 15:45
Sundays 09:00, 12:00, 16:15

Basilica Cistern Istanbul

It is located in the heart of the historic city center. It is the giant cistern in the historical city of Istanbul. The Cistern is hosting 336 columns. The function of this outstanding construction was to enable drinking water for Hagia Sophia. Great Palace of Palatium Magnum and fountains and baths are located throughout the city.

What time does Basilica Cistern open?

The Basilica Cistern is open throughout the week.
Summer Period: 09:00 - 19:00 (Last entrance is at 18:00)
Winter Period: 09:00 - 18:00 (Last entrance is at 17:00)

How much is Basilica Cistern?

The entrance fee is 190 Turkish Liras. You can get a ticket from the counters and may wait in line for around 30 minutes. Guided tours with admission are free with Istanbul E-pass.

Where is the Basilica Cistern located?

It is located in the heart of the Old City Square of Istanbul. 100 meters away from the Hagia Sophia.

  • From Old City Hotels; You can get the T1 Tram to the 'Sultanahmet' stop, which is 5 minutes walking distance.
  • From Taksim Hotels; Take a F1 funicular line to Kabatas and get T1 Tram to Sultanahmet.
  • From Sultanahmet Hotels; It is within walking distance from Sultanahmet hotels.

How long does it take to visit Cistern, and What is the best time to visit?

Visiting the Cistern will take around 15 minutes if you visit by yourself. Guided tours generally take approximately 25-30 minutes. It is dark and has narrow corridors; it is better to see Cistern while not crowded. Around 09:00 to 10:00 am, quieter in the summertime.

Basilica Cistern History

This cistern is an excellent example of underground water storage. Emperor Justinian I. (527-565) ordered the construction in the year 532 AD. There are three main groups of cisterns in Istanbul: overground, underground, and open-air cisterns.

The year 532 AD is a turning point in the history of the Eastern Roman Empire. One of the biggest riots of the Empire, the Nika Riot, took place this year. One of the results of this riot was the destruction of significant buildings in the city. Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Hippodrome, and Palatium Magnum were amongst the buildings destructed. Right after the riot, Emperor Justinian I. gave an order for renovating or rebuilding the city. This order was directing a majority of the buildings that were having critical importance to the city.

There is no record of the probable existence of a cistern in the exact location. Thinking this was the center of the city, some should be, but we don't know where. The date was recorded as 532 AD, which is the same year of the Nika Revolt and 3rd Hagia Sophia.

The logistics of construction in 6th AD were utterly different from today. The hardest part of construction would be carving 336 columns that are carrying the roof today. But the easiest solution to this matter would be using manpower or slave power. Back in the time was relatively easy for an Emperor to supply. After the order of the Emperor, many slaves went to remote sections of the Empire. They brought a lot of stones and columns from the temples. These columns and stones were dysfunctional, including 336 columns and 2 Medusa Heads.

It took less than a year time to construct this fantastic building after handling logistics. From then on, it started its essential function of itself. It was enabling clean water for the city.

Medusa Heads

Another problem of the construction was finding the columns for the building. Some of the columns were short, and some of them were long. Having long columns was not a big problem. They could cut them. But the shorter columns were a big problem. They had to find bases of the correct length for the construction. Two of the bases they found were the Medusa Heads. From the heads' style, we can think that these heads should be originating from the western side of Turkey.

Why is Medusa's Head upside down?

About this question, there are two main ideas. The first idea tells that in the 6th century AD, Christianity was the main religion. As these heads are the symbol of the previous belief, they are upside down for this reason. The second idea is more practical. Imagine you are moving a monolith stone block. Once you reach the right location for the column, you would stop. After they stopped erecting the column, they realized the head was upside down. They didn't need to correct the head because nobody is going to see that again.

Crying Column

Another column that is interesting to see is the crying column. The column is not crying but has the shape of teardrops. There are 2 locations in Istanbul where you can see these columns. One is the Basilica Cistern and the second is Beyazit near the Grand Bazaar. The story of the crying column here in the cistern is interesting. They say it symbolizes the tears of the slaves that worked there. The second idea is the column is crying for those who lost their lives in the construction.

Purpose of the Basilica Cistern

We know from the historical records today that there are more than 100 cisterns in Istanbul. The main target of the cisterns in the Roman Era was supplying clean water for the city. In Ottoman Era, this purpose changed.

Role of the Basilica Cistern In the Ottoman Era

According to religious reasons, the function of the cisterns was different over time. In Islam and Judaism, the water should not wait in storage and should always flow. If the water stays stagnant, it is a reason for the people to think the water is dirty in Islam and Judaism. Because of this reason, people abandoned many cisterns. Even some people converted the cisterns to workshops. Many of the cisterns were still having a different function during the Ottoman Era. Because of that, many of the cisterns today are still visible.

Basilica Cistern in Hollywood Movies

This was the place for several famous films, including several Hollywood productions. One of the most famous is From Russia with Love from the year 1963. Being the second James Bond film, most of the film from Russia with Love took place in Istanbul. It stars Sean Connery and Daniela Bianchi. This film is still considered to be one of the best James Bond films.

Based on the book of Dan Brown, Inferno was another film in which the Basilica Cistern took place. The cistern was the final place for placing the virus that would be a significant threat to humanity.

The Final Word

The cistern has an unusual history that attracts travelers across the globe to experience it in real. Who would not want to walk on raised wooden platforms to feel water dripping from the arched ceilings giving the essence of historical architecture? If you have a passion for photography, you will love the medusa-head column bases. Wait no more to kill your summer’s heat and have a majestic experience while visiting the Basilica Cistern with Istanbul E-pass.

Basilica Cistern Tour Times

Mondays: 09:00, 12:00
Wednesdays: 09:00
Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays: 09:00, 12:00, 15:45
Fridays: 09:00, 12:00, 16:30
Sundays: 09:00, 12:00, 16:15
Please click here to see the timetable for all guided tours.

Istanbul E-pass Guide Meeting Point

Meet with the guide in front of the Busforus Sultanahmet (Old City) Stop.
Our guide will hold the Istanbul E-pass flag at the meeting point and time.
Busforus Old City Stop is located across the Hagia Sophia, and you can easily see red double-decker buses.

Important Notes

  • Basilica Cistern tour is in English language.
  • Admission price and the guided tour is free with Istanbul E-pass
  • Istanbul E-pass is available only with a guided tour for Basilica Cistern
  • Photo ID will be asked from child Istanbul E-pass holders.
Know before you go

Frequently Asked Questions

Popular Istanbul E-pass Attractions

Skip Ticket Line Topkapi Palace Museum Entrance with Audio Guide

Topkapi Palace Museum Entrance with Audio Guide Price without pass €28 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Skip Ticket Line Galata Tower Entrance

Galata Tower Entrance Price without pass €10 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Hagia Sophia Guided Tour

Hagia Sophia Guided Tour Price without pass €14 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Basilica Cistern Guided Tour

Basilica Cistern Guided Tour Price without pass €22 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows

Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows Price without pass €35 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Dolmabahce Palace Guided Tour

Dolmabahce Palace Guided Tour Price without pass €29 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Whirling Dervishes Show

Whirling Dervishes Show Price without pass €15 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Bursa Tour Day Trip From Istanbul

Bursa Tour Day Trip From Istanbul Price without pass €35 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Istanbul Aquarium Florya

Istanbul Aquarium Florya Price without pass €20 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Istiklal Street and Taksim Square Guided Tour

Istiklal Street and Taksim Square Guided Tour Price without pass €15 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Skip Ticket Line Topkapi Palace Harem Section Entrance

Topkapi Palace Harem Section Entrance Price without pass €10 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Sapanca Lake and Masukiye Tour Day Trip From Istanbul

Sapanca Lake and Masukiye Tour Day Trip From Istanbul Price without pass €30 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction