Visite guidée du musée du palais de Topkapi

Valeur normale du ticket: 47 €

Visite guidée
Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass

Adulte (7 +)
- +
Enfant (3)
- +
Passer au paiement

Le E-pass d'Istanbul comprend la visite du palais de Topkapi avec un billet d'entrée (coupe-file) et un guide professionnel anglophone. Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter « Heures et réunion ».

Jours de la semaine Temps de tournée
Le lundi 09:00, 11:00, 13:45, 14:45, 15:30
Le mardi Le palais est fermé
Le Mercredi 09:00, 10:00, 11:00, 13:00, 14:00, 14:45, 15:30
Le jeudi 09:00, 10:00, 11:15, 12:00, 13:15, 14:15, 14:45, 15:30
Le Vendredi 09:00, 10:00, 10:45, 12:00, 13:00, 13:45, 14:30, 15:30
le samedi 09:00, 10:15, 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 13:45, 15:00, 15:30
le dimanche 09:00, 10:15, 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 13:30, 14:30, 15:30

Palais de Topkapi Istanbul

C'est le plus grand musée d'Istanbul. L'emplacement du palais est juste derrière le mosquée  dans le centre-ville historique d'Istanbul. L'utilisation originale du palais était la maison du sultan; aujourd'hui, le palais fonctionne comme un musée. Les faits saillants importants de ce palais sont; le harem, le trésor, les cuisines et bien d'autres.

À quelle heure le palais de Topkapi ouvre-t-il ?

Il est ouvert tous les jours sauf le mardi.
Il est ouvert de 09h00 à 18h00 (la dernière entrée est à 17h00)

Où se trouve le palais de Topkapi?

L'emplacement du palais est dans le quartier de Sultanahmet. Le centre-ville historique d'Istanbul est facilement accessible par les transports en commun.

Depuis le quartier de la vieille ville : Prenez le tramway T1 jusqu'à la station de tramway Sultanahmet. De la station de tramway au palais se trouve à seulement 5 minutes à pied.

De la région de Taksim : Prenez le funiculaire de la place Taksim à Kabatas. Depuis Kabatas, prenez le tramway T1 jusqu'à la station Sultanahmet. De la station de tramway au palais se trouve à seulement 5 minutes à pied.

Depuis la région de Sultanahmet : Il se trouve à distance de marche de la majorité des hôtels de la région.

Combien de temps faut-il pour visiter le Palais et quelle est la meilleure période ?

Vous pouvez visiter le palais en 1 à 1.5 heure si vous y allez seul. La visite guidée dure également environ une heure. Il y a de nombreuses salles d'exposition dans le palais. Dans la majorité des salles, il est interdit de prendre des photos ou de parler. Il peut y avoir beaucoup de monde selon l'heure de la journée. Le meilleur moment pour visiter le palais serait tôt le matin. Les temps anciens étaient une période calme dans cet endroit.

Histoire du palais de Topkapi

Après avoir conquis la ville en 1453, le sultan Mehmed II commanda une maison pour lui-même. Comme cette maison allait accueillir la famille royale, il s'agissait d'une vaste construction. La construction a commencé dans les années 2 et s'est terminée en 1460. Ce n'était que le noyau du palais au début de la période. Chaque sultan ottoman qui a vécu dans le palais, plus tard, a commandé une nouvelle extension dans ce bâtiment.

C'est pour cette raison que la construction s'est poursuivie jusqu'au dernier sultan qui a vécu dans ce palais. Le dernier sultan qui vécut dans ce palais fut Abdulmecit Ier. Durant son règne, il donna commande d'un nouveau palais. Le nom du nouveau palais était Palais de Dolmabahce . Après la construction du nouveau palais en 1856, la famille royale a déménagé au palais de Dolmabahce. Le palais de Topkapi était encore fonctionnel jusqu'à l'effondrement de l'empire. La famille royale a toujours utilisé le palais pour les cérémonies. Avec la déclaration de la République turque, le statut du palais est devenu un musée.

Informations générales sur le musée

Il y a deux entrées dans ce palais. L'entrée principale se trouve derrière le mosquée près de la belle fontaine du sultan Ahmet III du XVIIe siècle. La deuxième entrée est plus basse sur la colline près de la station de tramway Gulhane. La deuxième entrée est également l'entrée des musées archéologiques d'Istanbul. Depuis les deux entrées, vous pouvez vous rendre aux billetteries du musée. La deuxième porte du palais est le point de départ du musée. Pour pouvoir passer la deuxième porte, vous avez besoin soit d'un billet, soit d'un E-pass d'Istanbul. Aux deux portes d’entrée, il y a un contrôle de sécurité.

Avant d'utiliser les billets, vous effectuez un dernier contrôle de sécurité et vous entrez dans le musée. Dans le deuxième jardin du palais se trouvent plusieurs salles d’exposition. Après l'entrée, si vous tournez à droite, vous verrez la carte de l'Empire Ottoman et la maquette du palais. Vous pouvez admirer la superficie de 400,000 19 mètres carrés avec ce modèle. Si vous continuez vers la gauche, vous verrez la salle du Conseil Impérial. Jusqu'au XIXe siècle, les ministres du sultan y tenaient leurs conseils. Au sommet de la salle du Conseil se trouve la tour de justice du palais. La plus haute tour du musée est cette tour ici. Symbolisant la justice du sultan, c'est l'un des rares endroits du palais visible de l'extérieur. Les mères des sultans assistaient au couronnement de leur fils depuis cette tour.

À côté de la salle du conseil, il y a le trésor extérieur. Aujourd'hui, ce bâtiment sert de salle d'exposition pour les costumes et les armes de cérémonie. En face du Divan et du Trésor, se trouvent les cuisines du palais. Abritant autrefois près de 2000 personnes, c'est l'une des sections les plus importantes du bâtiment. Aujourd'hui, la plus grande collection de porcelaine chinoise hors de Chine au monde se trouve dans les cuisines de ce palais.

Une fois passé le 3e jardin du palais, la première chose que vous verrez est la salle d'audience du palais. C'était l'endroit où le sultan se réunissait avec les chefs des autres pays. La place du sultan se réunirait avec les membres de la salle du conseil était à nouveau la salle d'audience. Vous pouvez voir l'un des trônes des sultans ottomans et de beaux rideaux de soie qui décoraient autrefois la pièce dans cette pièce aujourd'hui. Après cette salle, vous pouvez voir les 2 points forts du palais. L'une est la salle des reliques religieuses. Le second est le Trésor Impérial.

Dans la salle des reliques religieuses, vous verriez la barbe du prophète Mahomet de l'Islam avec le bâton de Moïse, le bras de saint Jean-Baptiste et bien d'autres encore. La plupart de ces articles proviennent d'Arabie Saoudite, de Jérusalem et d'Égypte. Comme chaque sultan ottoman était également le calife de l’Islam, ces objets montraient le pouvoir spirituel du sultan. C’est l’une des pièces du palais où il n’est pas possible de prendre des photos.

En face de la salle des reliques religieuses se trouve le Trésor Impérial. Le Trésor dispose de 4 salles et la règle concernant la prise de photos est la même que la salle des saintes reliques. Les points forts du trésor sont le diamant des fabricants de cuillères, le poignard Topkapi, le trône d'or du sultan ottoman et bien d'autres.

Une fois le 3ème jardin terminé, vous pouvez passer à la dernière section du palais. Le 4ème jardin était un espace privé du Sultan. Il y a ici 2 beaux kiosques nommés d'après les conquêtes de deux villes importantes. Erevan et Bagdad. Cette section offre une belle vue sur la baie de la Corne d'Or. Mais le meilleur endroit pour prendre des photos serait l’autre côté. Face aux kiosques, on a l'une des plus belles vues de la ville depuis le Bosphore. Il y a aussi une cafétéria où vous pourrez prendre quelques verres. Les toilettes sont également disponibles au restaurant.

Section du harem du palais

Harem est un musée différent au sein du palais de Topkapi. Il a un droit d'entrée séparé et une billetterie. Harem signifie interdit, privé ou secret. C'était la section où le sultan vivait avec les membres de la famille. D'autres hommes en dehors de la famille royale n'ont pas pu entrer dans cette section. Un seul groupe d'hommes entrerait ici.

Comme il s'agissait d'une section consacrée à la vie privée du sultan, il n'y a aucune trace de cette section. Ce que nous savons de Harem provient d'autres disques. La cuisine nous en dit long sur le Harem. Nous savons combien de femmes devraient être dans le Harem grâce aux registres de la cuisine. Selon les archives du XVIe siècle, il y a 16 femmes dans le Harem. Cette section comprend les chambres privées des sultans, des reines mères, des concubines et bien d'autres.

Le dernier mot

Le palais de Topkapi devrait figurer en tête de votre liste de visites si vous venez à Istanbul. Le meilleur moment pour visiter le palais est tôt le matin dès son ouverture car il se remplit de groupes de touristes au fil de la journée. Envisagez-vous une tournée économe? L'e-pass d'Istanbul peut être une belle économie !

Heures de visite du palais de Topkapi

Les lundis: 09:00, 11:00, 13:45, 14:45, 15:30
Les mardis: Le palais est fermé
Les mercredis: 09:00, 11:00, 13:00, 14:00, 14:45, 15:30
Les jeudis: 09:00, 10:00, 11:15, 12:00, 13:15, 14:15, 14:45, 15:30
Les vendredis: 09:00, 10:00, 10:45, 12:00, 13:00, 13:45, 14:30, 15:30
Les samedis: 09:00, 10:15, 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 13:45, 15:00, 15:30
Les dimanches: 09:00, 10:15, 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 13:30, 14:30, 15:30

Veuillez cliquer ici pour voir les horaires de toutes les visites guidées.

Point de rencontre du guide Istanbul E-pass

Remarques importantes

  • L'entrée au palais ne peut se faire qu'avec notre guide.
  • La section Harem n'est pas incluse dans le billet.
  • Topkapi Palace Tour se produit en anglais.
  • Nous vous recommandons d'être au point de rendez-vous 10 minutes avant le départ pour éviter tout problème.
  • Le prix d'entrée et une visite guidée sont gratuits avec Istanbul E-pass.
  • Une pièce d'identité avec photo sera demandée aux enfants détenteurs d'un E-pass d'Istanbul
  • La visite guidée du musée du palais de Topkapi dure environ 1 heure.
  • Le palais de Topkapi est situé derrière Sainte-Sophie.

Foire aux Questions

Attractions populaires d'Istanbul e-pass

Visite guidée Topkapi Palace Museum Guided Tour

Visite guidée du musée du palais de Topkapi Prix ​​sans pass 47 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Visite guidée Hagia Sophia (Outer Explanation) Guided Tour

Visite guidée de Sainte-Sophie (explication extérieure) Prix ​​sans pass 14 € Le billet n'est pas inclus Voir l'attraction

Visite guidée Basilica Cistern Guided Tour

Visite guidée de la citerne de la basilique Prix ​​sans pass 30 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Réservation obligatoire Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows

Croisière sur le Bosphore avec dîner et spectacles turcs Prix ​​sans pass 35 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Visite guidée Dolmabahce Palace with Harem Guided Tour

Palais de Dolmabahce avec visite guidée du harem Prix ​​sans pass 38 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Billet coupe-file Maiden´s Tower Entrance with Audio Guide

Entrée de la tour de Léandre avec audioguide Prix ​​sans pass 20 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Entrer Whirling Dervishes Show

Spectacle de derviches tourneurs Prix ​​sans pass 20 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Réservation obligatoire Sultan Suleyman Hammam (Turkish Bath)

Hammam du Sultan Suleyman (bain turc) Prix ​​sans pass 50 € Réduction avec l'Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Réservation obligatoire Mosaic Lamp Workshop | Traditional Turkish Art

Atelier de lampes en mosaïque | Art traditionnel turc Prix ​​sans pass 35 € Réduction avec l'Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Réservation obligatoire Turkish Coffee Workshop | Making on Sand

Atelier sur le café turc | Fabriquer sur le sable Prix ​​sans pass 35 € Réduction avec l'Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Réservation obligatoire Galata Tower Entrance (Discounted)

Entrée de la tour de Galata (à prix réduit) Prix ​​sans pass 30 € Réduction avec l'Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Entrer Istanbul Aquarium Florya

Aquarium d'Istanbul Florya Prix ​​sans pass 21 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

Topkapi Palace Museum Guided Tour

Normal ticket value: €47

Guided Tour
Free with Istanbul E-pass

Adult (7+)
- +
Child (3-6)
- +
Continue to payment

Istanbul E-pass includes the Topkapi Palace Tour with an Entry Ticket (Skip the ticket line) and English speaking Professional Guide. For details, please check "Hours & Meeting."

Days of the Week Tour Times
Mondays 09:00, 11:00, 13:45, 14:45, 15:30
Tuesdays Palace is closed
Wednesdays 09:00, 11:00, 13:00, 14:00, 15:30
Thursdays 09:00, 10:00, 11:15, 13:15, 14:15, 14:45, 15:30
Fridays 09:00, 10:00, 10:45, 13:00, 13:45, 14:30, 15:30
Saturdays 09:00, 10:15, 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 13:45, 15:00, 15:30
Sundays 09:00, 10:15, 11:00, 12:00, 13:30, 14:30, 15:30

Topkapi Palace Istanbul

It is the biggest museum in Istanbul. The location of the palace is just behind the Hagia Sophia in the historical city center of Istanbul. The original use of the palace was the house for the Sultan; today, the palace is functioning as a museum. Important highlights in this palace are; the harem, treasury, kitchens, and many more.

What time does Topkapi Palace open?

It is open every day except for Tuesdays.
It is open from 09:00-18:00 (The last entry is at 17:00)

Where is Topkapi Palace located?

The location of the palace is in the Sultanahmet area. The historical city center of Istanbul is convenient to access with public transportation.

From Old City Area: Get the T1 tram to Sultanahmet tram station. From the tram station to the palace is just a 5-minute walk.

From Taksim Area: Get the funicular from the Taksim Square to Kabatas. From Kabatas take the T1 tram to Sultanahmet station. From the tram station to the palace is just a 5-minute walk.

From Sultanahmet Area: It is within walking distance of the majority of the hotels in the area.

How long does it take to visit the Palace and what is the best time?

You can visit the palace within 1-1.5 hour time if you go on your own. Guided tour also takes around an hour. There are lots of exhibition halls in the palace. In the majority of the rooms taking pictures or speaking is forbidden. It may be busy depending on the time of the day. The best time to visit the palace would be early morning. Earlier times would be a quiet time in the place.

Topkapi Palace History

After conquering the city in 1453, Sultan Mehmed the 2nd ordered a house for himself. As this house would be hosting the royal family, it was a vast construction. The construction began in the 1460s and was over by 1478. It was just the core of the palace in the early period. Every Ottoman Sultan that lived in the palace, later on, ordered a new extension in this building.

For this reason, construction continued up until the last Sultan who lived in this Palace. The final Sultan who lived in this palace was Abdulmecit the 1st. During his reign, he gave an order for a new palace. The name of the new palace was Dolmabahce Palace. After the new palace was constructed in 1856, the royal family moved to Dolmabahce Palace. Topkapi Palace was still functional up until the collapse of the empire. The royal family always used the palace for ceremonial occasions. With the declaration of the Turkish Republic, the status of the palace changed to a museum.

General Information about the Museum

There are two entrances to this Palace. The main entrance is behind the Hagia Sophia near the beautiful 17th-century fountain of Sultan Ahmet the 3rd. The second entrance is lower on the hill near the Gulhane tram station. The second entrance is also the entrance to the Archaeological Museums of Istanbul. From both of the entries, you can proceed to museum ticket offices. The second gate of the palace is where the museum starts. To be able to pass the second gate, you either need a ticket or an Istanbul E-pass. At both of the entry gates, there is a security check.

Before using the tickets, there is a final security check and you enter the museum. In the second garden of the palace, there are several exhibition halls. After the entry, if you make a right, you will see the Ottoman Empire's map and the model of the palace. You can admire the sheer size of 400,000 square meters with this model. If you continue to the left from here, you will see the Imperial Council Hall. Until the 19th century, the ministers of the Sultan held their councils here. At the top of the Council Hall, there is the Justice Tower of the palace. The highest tower in the museum is this tower here. Symbolizing the Sultan's justice, this is one of the rare places in the palace, which is visible from the outside. Mothers of the Sultans would be watching their son's coronation from this tower.

Next to the Council Hall, there is the outer treasury. Today this building is functioning as an exhibition hall for ceremonial costumes and weapons. Opposite Divan and Treasury, there are the kitchens of the palace. Once hosting nearly 2000 people, it is one of the most significant sections of the building. Today the biggest Chinese porcelain collection outside of China in the world is in this palace kitchens.

Once you pass the 3rd garden of the palace, the first thing that you would see is the audience hall of the palace. This was the place where the Sultan would be meeting with the heads of the other countries. The Sultan's place would be meeting with the members of the Council Hall was again the Audience Hall. You can see one of the Ottoman Sultans' thrones and beautiful silk curtains once decorating the room in this room today. After this room, you can see the 2 highlights of the palace. One is the religious relics room. The second one is the  Imperial Treasury.

In the religious relics room, you would see the beard of Prophet Mohammed of Islam with the staff of Moses, the arm of St. John The Baptist, and many more. Most of these items are coming from Saudi Arabia, Jerusalem, and Egypt. As every Ottoman Sultan was also the Caliph of Islam, these objects showed the spiritual power of the Sultan. This is one of the rooms of the palace where taking pictures is not possible.

Opposite the room of religious relics is the Imperial Treasury. The Treasury has 4 rooms and the rule about taking pictures is the same as the room of holy relics. The treasury highlights are Spoon-makers Diamond, Topkapi Dagger, the gold throne of The Ottoman Sultan, and many more.

Once you finish the 3rd garden, you can proceed to the final section of the palace. The 4th garden was a private area of The Sultan. There are 2 beautiful kiosks here named after the conquests of two important cities. Yerevan and Baghdad. This section has a beautiful view of the Golden Horn Bay. But the best place to take pictures would be the other side. Opposite the kiosks, there is one of the most beautiful views of the city from the Bosphorus. There is also a cafeteria where you can have some drinks. The restrooms are also available in the restaurant.

Harem Section of the Palace

Harem is a different museum within the Topkapi Palace. It has a separate entrance fee and a ticket booth. Harem means prohibited, private, or secret. This was the section where the Sultan lived with the family members. Other men outside the royal family were not able to go into this section. Only one group of men would be entering here.

As this was a section for the private life of the Sultan, there are no records about this section. What we know about Harem comes from other records. The kitchen tells us a lot about the Harem. We know how many women should be in the Harem from the records of the kitchen. According to 16th-century records, there are 200 women in the Harem. This section includes private rooms of the Sultans, Queen Mothers, concubines, and many more.

The Final Word

Topkapi Palace should be on top of your visit list if you are coming to Istanbul. The best time to visit the palace is early in the morning as soon as it opens as it becomes crowded with tour groups as the day passes. Are you planning on a thrifty tour? Istanbul E-pass can be a great save!

Topkapi Palace Tour Times

Mondays: 09:00, 11:00, 13:45, 14:45, 15:30
Tuesdays: Palace is closed
Wednesdays: 09:00, 11:00, 13:00, 14:00, 15:30
Thursdays: 09:00, 10:00, 11:15, 13:15, 14:15, 14:45, 15:30
Fridays: 09:00, 10:00, 10:45, 13:45, 14:30, 15:30
Saturdays: 09:00, 10:15, 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 13:45, 15:00, 15:30
Sundays: 09:00, 10:15, 11:00, 12:00, 13:30, 14:30, 15:30

Please click here to see the timetable for all guided tours.

Istanbul E-pass Guide Meeting Point

Important Notes

  • Entrance to the palace can only be done with our guide.
  • The Harem section is not included in the ticket.
  • Topkapi Palace Tour performs in English.
  • We recommend being at the meeting point 10 minutes before the start to avoid any problems.
  • Admission price and a guided tour are free with Istanbul E-pass.
  • Photo ID will be asked from child Istanbul E-pass holders
  • Topkapi Palace Museum Guided tour takes around 1 hour.
  • Topkapi Palace is located behind the Hagia Sophia.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is Topkapi Palace free to Visit?

    There is an entrance fee of 1500 Turkish Lira for the Topkapi Palace Museum. If you want to see the Harem Section, you need to pay an extra 500 Turkish Lira.

    Topkapi Palace entrance is free with E-pass. The Harem section is not included.

  • Should you visit Topkapi Palace if you have only one day in Istanbul?

    It is one of the top tourist attractions. Even if you have only one day in Istanbul, it is a worthy place to visit. You can get audio guide during your visit and it will help you explore many things and their connections with the past.

  • Where to enter the Topkapi Palace Museum?

    There are two entrances to the Topkapi Palace. The main entrance is behind the Hagia Sophia and the second entrance is from near the Gulhane Tram Station.

  • Can you visit Harem Section on the same entrance ticket?

    The Harem section is a separate area inside the Topkapi Palace. You need to buy a separate ticket. The Harem ticket price is 500 Turkish Lira.

  • Why is the Harem section so popular?

    Harem Section presents the picture of the personal life of Sultan and its Harem as it consists of personal rooms of Sultan, Queen Mothers and concubines. People love to visit it to know more about their private lives.

Popular Istanbul E-pass Attractions

Guided Tour Topkapi Palace Museum Guided Tour

Topkapi Palace Museum Guided Tour Price without pass €47 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Hagia Sophia (Outer Visit) Guided Tour

Hagia Sophia (Outer Visit) Guided Tour Price without pass €14 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Basilica Cistern Guided Tour

Basilica Cistern Guided Tour Price without pass €26 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows

Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows Price without pass €35 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Dolmabahce Palace Guided Tour

Dolmabahce Palace Guided Tour Price without pass €38 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Maiden´s Tower Entrance with Roundtrip Boat Transfer and Audio Guide

Maiden´s Tower Entrance with Roundtrip Boat Transfer and Audio Guide Price without pass €20 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Whirling Dervishes Show

Whirling Dervishes Show Price without pass €20 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Mosaic Lamp Workshop | Traditional Turkish Art

Mosaic Lamp Workshop | Traditional Turkish Art Price without pass €35 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Turkish Coffee Workshop | Making on Sand

Turkish Coffee Workshop | Making on Sand Price without pass €35 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Istanbul Aquarium Florya

Istanbul Aquarium Florya Price without pass €21 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Airport Transfer Private (Discounted-2 way)

Airport Transfer Private (Discounted-2 way) Price without pass €45 €37.95 with E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Hop on Hop Off Istanbul Bus Tour

Hop on Hop Off Istanbul Bus Tour Price without pass €45 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction