Aufstieg und Fall des Osmanischen Reiches

Das Osmanische Reich war eines der am längsten bestehenden Imperien der Welt. Es ist auch als die am längsten bestehende islamische Macht der Welt bekannt. Es dauert fast 600 Jahre. Diese Macht beherrschte große Gebiete des Nahen Ostens, Osteuropas und Nordafrikas. Der oberste Führer, der auch als Sultan bekannt war, hatte die vollständige islamische und politische Autorität über die Menschen in den Regionen. Der Untergang des Imperiums begann nach der Niederlage in der Schlacht von Lepanto.

Aktualisiertes Datum: 15.01.2022

Aufstieg und Fall des Osmanischen Reiches

Jeder Aufstieg hat Kämpfe, und jeder Niedergang hat Gründe, die oft von den Folgen dieser Ereignisse überdeckt werden. Die Sonne des Osmanischen Reiches – Eines der größten Imperien der Geschichte ging auf und schien lange, aber wie bei jeder anderen Dynastie war der Untergang dunkel und beständig.
Das  Das Osmanische Reich wurde 1299 gegründet  und wuchs von türkischen Stämmen in Anatolien. Die Osmanen genossen im 15. und 16. Jahrhundert ein faires Machtspiel und regierten mehr als 600 Jahre lang. Sie gilt als eine der langlebigsten Dynastien in der Geschichte der Herrscherreiche. Die Macht der Osmanen wurde allgemein als die Macht des Islam angesehen. Es wurde von den Westeuropäern als Bedrohung angesehen. Die Herrschaft des Osmanischen Reiches gilt als Ära der regionalen Stabilität, Sicherheit und des Fortschritts. Der Erfolg dieser Dynastie wird der Tatsache zugeschrieben, dass sie sich den veränderten Umständen anpasste und dies insgesamt den Weg für die kulturelle, soziale, religiöse, wirtschaftliche und technologische Entwicklung ebnete. 

Die Geschichte des Osmanischen Reiches

Das Osmanische Reich wuchs und umfasste verschiedene Gebiete des heutigen Europas. Es erstreckte sich während seines Höhepunkts über die Türkei, Ägypten, Syrien, Rumänien, Mazedonien, Ungarn, Israel, Jordanien, den Libanon, Teile der Arabischen Halbinsel und Teile Nordafrikas. Die Gesamtfläche des Imperiums umfasste 7.6 etwa 1595 Millionen Quadratmeilen. Während es zerbröckelte, wurde ein Teil davon zur heutigen Türkei.

Osmanisches Reich

Der Ursprung des Osmanischen Reiches

Das Osmanische Reich selbst erschien als unterbrochener Faden des seldschukischen Türkenreichs. Das Seldschukenreich wurde im 13. Jahrhundert von türkischen Kriegern unter Osman I. überfallen, die sich die mongolischen Invasionen zunutze machten. Die mongolischen Invasionen hatten den seldschukischen Staat geschwächt, und die Integrität des Islam war in Gefahr. Nach der Zerschlagung des Seldschukenreiches erlangten die osmanischen Türken die Macht. Sie übernahmen die Kontrolle über die anderen Staaten des Seldschukenreiches, und nach und nach wurden im 14. Jahrhundert alle verschiedenen türkischen Herrschaften überwiegend von osmanischen Türken regiert.

Der Aufstieg des Osmanischen Reiches

Der Aufstieg jeder Dynastie ist eher ein allmählicher als ein abrupter Prozess. Das türkische Reich verdankt seinen Erfolg der herausragenden Führung von Osman I., Orhan, Murad I. und Bayezid I., seiner zentralisierten Struktur, seiner guten Regierungsführung, seinem ständig wachsenden Territorium, seiner Kontrolle über Handelswege und seiner organisierten furchtlosen Militärmacht. Die Kontrolle der Handelswege öffnete Türen zu großem Reichtum, der maßgeblich zur Stabilität und Verankerung der Herrschaft beitrug. 

Die Zeit der großen Expansion

Genauer gesagt erreichte das Osmanische Reich mit der Eroberung von Konstantinopel, der Hauptstadt des Byzantinischen Reiches, seinen Höhepunkt. Konstantinopel, das als unbesiegbar galt, wurde von Osmans Nachkommen in die Knie gezwungen. Diese Eroberung wurde zur Grundlage für die weitere Expansion des Imperiums, das über zehn verschiedene Staaten Europas und des Nahen Ostens umfasste. Die Literatur über die Geschichte des Osmanischen Reiches beschreibt diese Ära als die Zeit der großen Expansion. Viele Historiker führen diese Expansion auf einen desorganisierten und geschrumpften Staat der besetzten Staaten und die fortschrittliche und organisierte Militärmacht der Osmanen zurück. Die Expansion setzte sich mit der Niederlage der Mamluken in Ägypten und Syrien fort. Algier, Ungarn und Teile Griechenlands kamen im 15. Jahrhundert ebenfalls unter den Schirm der osmanischen Türken.

Aus den Stücken der Geschichte des Osmanischen Reiches geht hervor, dass, obwohl es sich um eine Dynastie handelte, nur die Position des obersten Herrschers oder Sultans erblich war, alle anderen, sogar die Elite, sich ihre Positionen verdienen mussten. 1520 war die Herrschaft in den Händen von Sulayman I. Während seiner Herrschaft erlangte das Osmanische Reich mehr Macht und ein strenges Justizsystem wurde anerkannt. Die Kultur dieser Zivilisation begann zu blühen.

Tolle Erweiterung

Der Niedergang des Osmanischen Reiches

Der Tod von Sultan Sulyman I. markierte den Beginn einer Ära, die zum Niedergang der osmanischen Dynastie führte. Als kritischer Grund für den Niedergang erwiesen sich die aufeinanderfolgenden militärischen Niederlagen, von denen die vorherrschende die Niederlage in der Schlacht von Lepanto war. Die russisch-türkischen Kriege führen zum Verfall der militärischen Macht. Nach den Kriegen muss der Kaiser mehrere Verträge unterzeichnen, und das Imperium verlor einen Großteil seiner wirtschaftlichen Unabhängigkeit. Der Krimkrieg führte zu weiteren Komplikationen.
Bis zum 18. Jahrhundert war der zentrale Knotenpunkt des Reiches schwach geworden, und verschiedene rebellische Handlungen führten zu einem kontinuierlichen Verlust von Territorien. Mit den politischen Intrigen im Sultanat, der Stärkung der europäischen Mächte und der wirtschaftlichen Konkurrenz, als neue Handelszweige entwickelt wurden, entstand das türkische Reich erreichte ein erschöpfendes Stadium und wurde als "Sick Man of Europe" bezeichnet. Es wurde so genannt, weil es all seine Vorzüge verloren hatte, wirtschaftlich instabil war und zunehmend von Europa abhängig war. Das Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs markierte auch das Ende des Osmanischen Reiches. Der türkische Nationalist schaffte das Sultanat ab, indem er den Vertrag von Sèvres unterzeichnete.

Das letzte Wort

Jeder Aufstieg hat einen Niedergang, aber die Osmanen herrschten 600 Jahre lang und es brauchte einen Weltkrieg, um dem ein Ende zu bereiten. Die osmanischen Türken sind immer noch für ihren Mut, ihre kulturelle Entwicklung und Vielfalt, ihre innovativen Unternehmungen, ihre religiöse Toleranz und ihre architektonischen Wunder bekannt. Die von den späten Türken entwickelten Politiken und politischen Infrastrukturen funktionieren immer noch, jedoch in verbesserter oder veränderter Form.

FAQs

Beliebte E-Pass-Attraktionen in Istanbul

Ticketlinie überspringen Topkapi Palace Museum Entrance with Audio Guide

Eingang zum Topkapi-Palastmuseum mit Audioguide Preis ohne Pass 28 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

Ticketlinie überspringen Galata Tower Entrance

Eingang zum Galata-Turm Preis ohne Pass 10 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

geführte Tour Hagia Sophia Guided Tour

Führung durch die Hagia Sophia Preis ohne Pass 14 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

geführte Tour Basilica Cistern Guided Tour

Führung durch die Cisterna Basilica Preis ohne Pass 22 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

Reservierung erforderlich Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows

Bosporus Cruise Tour mit Abendessen und türkischen Shows Preis ohne Pass 35 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

geführte Tour Dolmabahce Palace Guided Tour

Führung durch den Dolmabahçe-Palast Preis ohne Pass 29 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

Reingehen Whirling Dervishes Show

Wirbelnde Derwische-Show Preis ohne Pass 15 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

Reservierung erforderlich Bursa Tour Day Trip From Istanbul

Bursa Tour Tagesausflug von Istanbul Preis ohne Pass 35 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

Reingehen Istanbul Aquarium Florya

Istanbul-Aquarium Florya Preis ohne Pass 20 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

geführte Tour Istiklal Street and Taksim Square Guided Tour

Geführte Tour durch die Istiklal-Straße und den Taksim-Platz Preis ohne Pass 15 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

Ticketlinie überspringen Topkapi Palace Harem Section Entrance

Eingang zum Harem des Topkapi-Palastes Preis ohne Pass 10 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

Reservierung erforderlich Sapanca Lake and Masukiye Tour Day Trip From Istanbul

Sapanca See und Masukiye Tour Tagesausflug von Istanbul Preis ohne Pass 30 € Kostenlos mit Istanbul E-Pass Attraktion ansehen

The Rise and Fall of the Ottoman Empire

Ottoman empire was one of the longest-running Empires in the world. It is also known as the longest-running Islamic power in the world. It lasts almost 600 years. This power ruled large areas of the Middle East, Eastern Europe, and North Africa. The chief leader, who was also known as the sultan, had complete Islamic and political authority over the people of the regions. The downfall of the Empire started after being defeated in the battle of Lepanto.

Updated Date : 15.01.2022

The Rise and Fall of the Ottoman Empire

Every rise has struggles, and every fall has reasons which are often masked by the consequences of these events. The sun of the Ottoman Empire- One of the greatest empires in history rose and shined for a long, but like any other dynasty, the fall was dark and constant.
The  Ottoman Empire was founded in 1299  and grew from Turkish tribes in Anatolia. The ottomans enjoyed a fair play of power during the 15th and 16th centuries and reigned for more than  600 years . It is regarded as one of the longest-lasting dynasties in the history of ruling empires. The power of the Ottomans was generally seen as the power of Islam. It was considered a threat by the Western Europeans.The rule of the Ottoman Empire is regarded as the era of regional stability, security, and advancements. The success of this dynasty is attributed to the fact that they adapted to the changing circumstances, and this, on the whole, paving the way for cultural, social, religious, economic, and technological development. 

The Ottoman Empire History

The Ottoman Empire grew to include various areas of present-day Europe. It stretched over Turkey, Egypt, Syria, Romania, Macedonia, Hungary, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, parts of the Arabian Peninsula, and parts of North Africa during its peak . The total area of the Empire covered about 7.6 million square miles in 1595. While it was crumbling a part of it became present-day Turkey.

Ottoman Empire

The origin of the Ottoman Empire

The Ottoman Realm itself appeared as a broken thread of the Seljuk Turk Empire. The Seljuk Empire was raided by Turk warriors under Osman I in the 13th century who took advantage of the Mongol invasions. The Mongol invasions had weakened the Seljuk state, and the integrity of Islam was in danger. After the shatter of the Seljuk Empire, the Ottoman Turks gained power. They took control of the other states of the Seljuk Empire, and gradually by the 14th century, all different Turkish reigns were predominantly ruled by Ottoman Turks.

The rise of the Ottoman Empire

The rise of every dynasty is more of a gradual than an abrupt process. The Turkish Empire owes its success to the outstanding leadership of Osman I, Orhan, Murad I, and Bayezid I to its centralized structure, good governance, ever-expanding territory, control of trade routes, and organized fearless military might. The control of trade routes opened doors for great wealth, which played a significant role in the stability and anchorage of the rule. 

The period of great expansion

More clearly, the Ottoman Empire reached its pinnacle with the conquest of Constantinople-the capital of the Byzantine Empire. Constantinople, which was considered unconquerable, was brought to knees by Osman's descendants. This conquest became the foundation of further expansion of the Empire, including over ten different states of Europe and the Middle East. The literature on the Ottoman Empire History narrates this era to be called the period of great expansion. Many historians attribute this expansion as a disorganized and dwindled state of the occupied states and the Ottomans' advanced and organized military might. The expansion continued with the defeat of the Mamluks in Egypt and Syria.Algiers, Hungary, and parts of Greece also came under the Umbrella of Ottoman Turks in the 15th century.

It is evident from the pieces of Ottoman Empire History that despite being a dynasty the position of only the supreme ruler or sultan was hereditary all others even the elite had to earn their positions. In 1520 the reign was in the hands of Sulayman I. During his reign Ottoman Empire gained more power and a strict judicial system was recognized. The culture of this civilization began to flourish.

Great Expansion

The decline of the Ottoman Empire

The death of Sultan Sulyman I marked the beginning of an era that lead to the decline of the Ottoman Dynasty. The critical reason for the decline surfaced to be the consecutive military defeats - the most predominant being the defeat in the  battle of Lepanto . The Russo-Turkish wars lead to the deterioration of the military might. Following the wars, the Emperor has to sign several treaties, and the Empire lost much of its economic independence. The Crimean war created further complications.
Till the 18th century, the central hub of the Empire had gotten weak, and various rebellious acts led to the continuous loss of territories.With the political intrigue in the sultanate, strengthening European powers, economic competition as new trades were developed, the Turkish Empire reached an exhaustive stage and was referred to as the "Sick Man of Europe". It was so-called because it had lost all its remarkabilities, was economically unstable and was increasingly dependant on Europe.The end of world war I marked the end of the Ottoman Empire too. The Turkish nationalist abolished the sultanate signing the treaty of Sevres.

The Final Word

Every rise has a fall but the Ottomans ruled for an era 600 years and it took a World War to put an end to it. The Ottoman Turks are still remembered for their valor, cultural development and diversity, innovative ventures, religious tolerance and architectural wonders. The policies and political infrastructures developed by the late Turks are still in function however in improved or altered forms.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Which city was the capital of the Ottoman Empire?

    After the Byzantine Empire, Istanbul, then Constantinople became the capital of the Turkish Empire.

  • Where do Ottomans live now?

    The Ottomans' descendants live in different parts of Europe, the Middle East, United States, and since they are now allowed to go to their homeland, many have shifted to modern-day Turkey.

  • Why was Ottoman Empire called the sick man of Europe?

    Ottoman Empire was called the sick man of Europe because in the late 18th century it had lost all its remarkabilities, was economically unstable and was increasingly dependant on Europe.

  • How long did the Ottomans rule?

    The Ottomans ruled from about the 12th century to the 18th century.

  • Who caused the Ottoman Empire to fall?

    The political intrigue in the sultanate, strengthening European powers, economic competition as new trades were developed caused the Turkish Empire to reach an exhaustive stage. Russo-Turkish wars lead to the deterioration of the military might, and the Empire came crumbling behind.

Popular Istanbul E-pass Attractions

Guided Tour Topkapi Palace Museum Guided Tour

Topkapi Palace Museum Guided Tour Price without pass €47 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Hagia Sophia (Outer Explanation) Guided Tour

Hagia Sophia (Outer Explanation) Guided Tour Price without pass €14 Ticket is not included View attraction

Guided Tour Basilica Cistern Guided Tour

Basilica Cistern Guided Tour Price without pass €30 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows

Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows Price without pass €35 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Dolmabahce Palace with Harem Guided Tour

Dolmabahce Palace with Harem Guided Tour Price without pass €38 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Whirling Dervishes Show

Whirling Dervishes Show Price without pass €20 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Beylerbeyi Palace Museum Entrance

Beylerbeyi Palace Museum Entrance Price without pass €13 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Golden Horn & Bosphorus Sunset Cruise

Golden Horn & Bosphorus Sunset Cruise Price without pass €15 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Miniaturk Park Museum Ticket

Miniaturk Park Museum Ticket Price without pass €18 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Galata Tower Entrance (Discounted)

Galata Tower Entrance (Discounted) Price without pass €30 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Mosaic Lamp Workshop | Traditional Turkish Art

Mosaic Lamp Workshop | Traditional Turkish Art Price without pass €45 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Turkish Coffee Workshop | Making on Sand

Turkish Coffee Workshop | Making on Sand Price without pass €40 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction