L'essor et la chute de l'Empire ottoman

L'empire ottoman était l'un des empires les plus anciens du monde. Il est également connu comme la puissance islamique la plus ancienne du monde. Il a duré près de 600 ans. Cette puissance régnait sur de vastes régions du Moyen-Orient, de l'Europe de l'Est et de l'Afrique du Nord. Le chef, également connu sous le nom de sultan, avait une autorité islamique et politique totale sur les habitants de ces régions. La chute de l'Empire a commencé après sa défaite à la bataille de Lépante.

Date de mise à jour : 15.01.2022

L'essor et la chute de l'Empire ottoman

Chaque montée a des luttes, et chaque chute a des raisons qui sont souvent masquées par les conséquences de ces événements. Le soleil de l'Empire ottoman - L'un des plus grands empires de l'histoire s'est levé et a brillé pendant longtemps, mais comme toute autre dynastie, la chute a été sombre et constante.
La série  Empire ottoman a été fondé en 1299  et a grandi des tribus turques en Anatolie. Les ottomans jouissaient d'un franc jeu de pouvoir aux XVe et XVIe siècles et régnèrent pendant plus de 15 ans. Elle est considérée comme l'une des dynasties les plus durables de l'histoire des empires au pouvoir. Le pouvoir des Ottomans était généralement considéré comme le pouvoir de l'Islam. Il était considéré comme une menace par les Européens de l'Ouest. La domination de l'Empire ottoman est considérée comme l'ère de la stabilité, de la sécurité et des progrès régionaux. Le succès de cette dynastie est attribué au fait qu'elle s'est adaptée aux circonstances changeantes, et ceci, dans l'ensemble, ouvrant la voie au développement culturel, social, religieux, économique et technologique. 

L'histoire de l'Empire ottoman

L'Empire ottoman a grandi pour inclure diverses régions de l'Europe actuelle. Il s'étendait sur la Turquie, l'Égypte, la Syrie, la Roumanie, la Macédoine, la Hongrie, Israël, la Jordanie, le Liban, certaines parties de la péninsule arabique et certaines parties de l'Afrique du Nord à son apogée. La superficie totale de l'Empire couvrait environ 7.6 millions de miles carrés en 1595. Pendant qu'il s'effondrait, une partie est devenue la Turquie actuelle.

Empire ottoman

L'origine de l'Empire ottoman

Le royaume ottoman lui-même est apparu comme un fil rompu de l'empire turc seldjoukide. L'empire seldjoukide a été attaqué par des guerriers turcs sous Osman Ier au 13ème siècle qui ont profité des invasions mongoles. Les invasions mongoles avaient affaibli l'État seldjoukide et l'intégrité de l'Islam était en danger. Après l'éclatement de l'empire seldjoukide, les Turcs ottomans ont pris le pouvoir. Ils ont pris le contrôle des autres États de l'empire seldjoukide et, progressivement, au XIVe siècle, tous les différents règnes turcs étaient principalement dirigés par des Turcs ottomans.

La montée de l'Empire ottoman

L'ascension de chaque dynastie est plus un processus graduel qu'un processus abrupt. L'Empire turc doit son succès au leadership exceptionnel d'Osman I, Orhan, Murad I et Bayezid I à sa structure centralisée, sa bonne gouvernance, son territoire en constante expansion, son contrôle des routes commerciales et sa puissance militaire organisée et sans peur. Le contrôle des routes commerciales a ouvert les portes d'une grande richesse, qui a joué un rôle important dans la stabilité et l'ancrage de la règle. 

La période de grande expansion

Plus clairement, l'Empire ottoman a atteint son apogée avec la conquête de Constantinople, la capitale de l'Empire byzantin. Constantinople, considérée comme invincible, fut mise à genoux par les descendants d'Osman. Cette conquête est devenue la base d'une nouvelle expansion de l'Empire, comprenant plus de dix États différents d'Europe et du Moyen-Orient. La littérature sur l'histoire de l'Empire ottoman raconte cette époque à appeler la période de grande expansion. De nombreux historiens attribuent cette expansion à un état désorganisé et diminué des États occupés et à la puissance militaire avancée et organisée des Ottomans. L'expansion s'est poursuivie avec la défaite des Mamelouks en Égypte et en Syrie. Alger, la Hongrie et certaines parties de la Grèce sont également passées sous le parapluie des Turcs ottomans au 15ème siècle.

Il est évident d'après les morceaux de l'histoire de l'Empire ottoman que, bien qu'il s'agisse d'une dynastie, la position du seul souverain ou sultan suprême était héréditaire, tous les autres, même l'élite, devaient gagner leurs positions. En 1520, le règne était entre les mains de Sulayman I. Pendant son règne, l'Empire ottoman a gagné plus de pouvoir et un système judiciaire strict a été reconnu. La culture de cette civilisation a commencé à s'épanouir.

Grande extension

Le déclin de l'Empire ottoman

La mort du sultan Sulyman I a marqué le début d'une ère qui a conduit au déclin de la dynastie ottomane. La raison critique du déclin apparut comme étant les défaites militaires consécutives - la plus prédominante étant la défaite de la bataille de Lépante. Les guerres russo-turques conduisent à la détérioration de la puissance militaire. Suite aux guerres, l'Empereur doit signer plusieurs traités, et l'Empire perd une grande partie de son indépendance économique. La guerre de Crimée a créé de nouvelles complications.
Jusqu'au XVIIIe siècle, la plaque tournante centrale de l'Empire s'était affaiblie et divers actes de rébellion conduisaient à la perte continue de territoires. Avec les intrigues politiques du sultanat, le renforcement des puissances européennes, la concurrence économique au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux atteint un stade exhaustif et fut surnommé « l'homme malade de l'Europe ». On l'appelait ainsi parce qu'il avait perdu toutes ses particularités, était économiquement instable et dépendait de plus en plus de l'Europe. La fin de la Première Guerre mondiale a également marqué la fin de l'Empire ottoman. Le nationaliste turc abolit le sultanat en signant le traité de Sèvres.

Le dernier mot

Chaque montée a une chute, mais les Ottomans ont régné pendant une ère de 600 ans et il a fallu une guerre mondiale pour y mettre fin. On se souvient encore des Turcs ottomans pour leur valeur, leur développement culturel et leur diversité, leurs entreprises innovantes, leur tolérance religieuse et leurs merveilles architecturales. Les politiques et les infrastructures politiques développées par les derniers Turcs sont toujours en fonction, mais sous des formes améliorées ou modifiées.

Question Fréquemment Posée

Attractions populaires d'Istanbul e-pass

  • Billet coupe-file Topkapi Palace Museum Entrance with Audio Guide

    Entrée du musée du palais de Topkapi avec audioguide Prix ​​sans pass 20 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Billet coupe-file Galata Tower Entrance

    Entrée de la tour de Galata Prix ​​sans pass 10 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Visite guidée Hagia Sophia Guided Tour

    Visite guidée de Sainte-Sophie Prix ​​sans pass 14 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Visite guidée Basilica Cistern Guided Tour

    Visite guidée de la citerne de la basilique Prix ​​sans pass 21 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Réservation obligatoire Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows

    Croisière sur le Bosphore avec dîner et spectacles turcs Prix ​​sans pass 35 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Visite guidée Dolmabahce Palace Guided Tour

    Visite guidée du palais de Dolmabahce Prix ​​sans pass 28 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Entrer Whirling Dervishes Show

    Spectacle de derviches tourneurs Prix ​​sans pass 15 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Réservation obligatoire Bursa Tour Day Trip From Istanbul

    Excursion d'une journée à Bursa au départ d'Istanbul Prix ​​sans pass 35 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Entrer Istanbul Aquarium Florya

    Aquarium d'Istanbul Florya Prix ​​sans pass 20 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Visite guidée Istiklal Street and Taksim Square Guided Tour

    Visite guidée de la rue Istiklal et de la place Taksim Prix ​​sans pass 15 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Billet coupe-file Topkapi Palace Harem Section Entrance

    Entrée de la section Harem du palais de Topkapi Prix ​​sans pass 10 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

  • Réservation obligatoire Sapanca Lake and Masukiye Tour Day Trip From Istanbul

    Excursion d'une journée au lac Sapanca et à Masukiye au départ d'Istanbul Prix ​​sans pass 30 € Gratuit avec Istanbul E-pass Voir l'attraction

The Rise and Fall of the Ottoman Empire

Ottoman empire was one of the longest-running Empires in the world. It is also known as the longest-running Islamic power in the world. It lasts almost 600 years. This power ruled large areas of the Middle East, Eastern Europe, and North Africa. The chief leader, who was also known as the sultan, had complete Islamic and political authority over the people of the regions. The downfall of the Empire started after being defeated in the battle of Lepanto.

Updated Date : 15.01.2022

The Rise and Fall of the Ottoman Empire

Every rise has struggles, and every fall has reasons which are often masked by the consequences of these events. The sun of the Ottoman Empire- One of the greatest empires in history rose and shined for a long, but like any other dynasty, the fall was dark and constant.
The  Ottoman Empire was founded in 1299  and grew from Turkish tribes in Anatolia. The ottomans enjoyed a fair play of power during the 15th and 16th centuries and reigned for more than  600 years . It is regarded as one of the longest-lasting dynasties in the history of ruling empires. The power of the Ottomans was generally seen as the power of Islam. It was considered a threat by the Western Europeans.The rule of the Ottoman Empire is regarded as the era of regional stability, security, and advancements. The success of this dynasty is attributed to the fact that they adapted to the changing circumstances, and this, on the whole, paving the way for cultural, social, religious, economic, and technological development. 

The Ottoman Empire History

The Ottoman Empire grew to include various areas of present-day Europe. It stretched over Turkey, Egypt, Syria, Romania, Macedonia, Hungary, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, parts of the Arabian Peninsula, and parts of North Africa during its peak . The total area of the Empire covered about 7.6 million square miles in 1595. While it was crumbling a part of it became present-day Turkey.

Ottoman Empire

The origin of the Ottoman Empire

The Ottoman Realm itself appeared as a broken thread of the Seljuk Turk Empire. The Seljuk Empire was raided by Turk warriors under Osman I in the 13th century who took advantage of the Mongol invasions. The Mongol invasions had weakened the Seljuk state, and the integrity of Islam was in danger. After the shatter of the Seljuk Empire, the Ottoman Turks gained power. They took control of the other states of the Seljuk Empire, and gradually by the 14th century, all different Turkish reigns were predominantly ruled by Ottoman Turks.

The rise of the Ottoman Empire

The rise of every dynasty is more of a gradual than an abrupt process. The Turkish Empire owes its success to the outstanding leadership of Osman I, Orhan, Murad I, and Bayezid I to its centralized structure, good governance, ever-expanding territory, control of trade routes, and organized fearless military might. The control of trade routes opened doors for great wealth, which played a significant role in the stability and anchorage of the rule. 

The period of great expansion

More clearly, the Ottoman Empire reached its pinnacle with the conquest of Constantinople-the capital of the Byzantine Empire. Constantinople, which was considered unconquerable, was brought to knees by Osman's descendants. This conquest became the foundation of further expansion of the Empire, including over ten different states of Europe and the Middle East. The literature on the Ottoman Empire History narrates this era to be called the period of great expansion. Many historians attribute this expansion as a disorganized and dwindled state of the occupied states and the Ottomans' advanced and organized military might. The expansion continued with the defeat of the Mamluks in Egypt and Syria.Algiers, Hungary, and parts of Greece also came under the Umbrella of Ottoman Turks in the 15th century.

It is evident from the pieces of Ottoman Empire History that despite being a dynasty the position of only the supreme ruler or sultan was hereditary all others even the elite had to earn their positions. In 1520 the reign was in the hands of Sulayman I. During his reign Ottoman Empire gained more power and a strict judicial system was recognized. The culture of this civilization began to flourish.

Great Expansion

The decline of the Ottoman Empire

The death of Sultan Sulyman I marked the beginning of an era that lead to the decline of the Ottoman Dynasty. The critical reason for the decline surfaced to be the consecutive military defeats - the most predominant being the defeat in the  battle of Lepanto . The Russo-Turkish wars lead to the deterioration of the military might. Following the wars, the Emperor has to sign several treaties, and the Empire lost much of its economic independence. The Crimean war created further complications.
Till the 18th century, the central hub of the Empire had gotten weak, and various rebellious acts led to the continuous loss of territories.With the political intrigue in the sultanate, strengthening European powers, economic competition as new trades were developed, the Turkish Empire reached an exhaustive stage and was referred to as the "Sick Man of Europe". It was so-called because it had lost all its remarkabilities, was economically unstable and was increasingly dependant on Europe.The end of world war I marked the end of the Ottoman Empire too. The Turkish nationalist abolished the sultanate signing the treaty of Sevres.

The Final Word

Every rise has a fall but the Ottomans ruled for an era 600 years and it took a World War to put an end to it. The Ottoman Turks are still remembered for their valor, cultural development and diversity, innovative ventures, religious tolerance and architectural wonders. The policies and political infrastructures developed by the late Turks are still in function however in improved or altered forms.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Which city was the capital of the Ottoman Empire?

    After the Byzantine Empire, Istanbul, then Constantinople became the capital of the Turkish Empire.

  • Where do Ottomans live now?

    The Ottomans' descendants live in different parts of Europe, the Middle East, United States, and since they are now allowed to go to their homeland, many have shifted to modern-day Turkey.

  • Why was Ottoman Empire called the sick man of Europe?

    Ottoman Empire was called the sick man of Europe because in the late 18th century it had lost all its remarkabilities, was economically unstable and was increasingly dependant on Europe.

  • How long did the Ottomans rule?

    The Ottomans ruled from about the 12th century to the 18th century.

  • Who caused the Ottoman Empire to fall?

    The political intrigue in the sultanate, strengthening European powers, economic competition as new trades were developed caused the Turkish Empire to reach an exhaustive stage. Russo-Turkish wars lead to the deterioration of the military might, and the Empire came crumbling behind.

Popular Istanbul E-pass Attractions

Guided Tour Topkapi Palace Museum Guided Tour

Topkapi Palace Museum Guided Tour Price without pass €47 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Hagia Sophia (Outer Explanation) Guided Tour

Hagia Sophia (Outer Explanation) Guided Tour Price without pass €14 Ticket is not included View attraction

Guided Tour Basilica Cistern Guided Tour

Basilica Cistern Guided Tour Price without pass €30 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows

Bosphorus Cruise Tour with Dinner and Turkish Shows Price without pass €35 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Guided Tour Dolmabahce Palace with Harem Guided Tour

Dolmabahce Palace with Harem Guided Tour Price without pass €38 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Whirling Dervishes Show

Whirling Dervishes Show Price without pass €20 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Beylerbeyi Palace Museum Entrance

Beylerbeyi Palace Museum Entrance Price without pass €13 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Walk In Golden Horn & Bosphorus Sunset Cruise

Golden Horn & Bosphorus Sunset Cruise Price without pass €15 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Miniaturk Park Museum Ticket

Miniaturk Park Museum Ticket Price without pass €18 Free with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Galata Tower Entrance (Discounted)

Galata Tower Entrance (Discounted) Price without pass €30 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Mosaic Lamp Workshop | Traditional Turkish Art

Mosaic Lamp Workshop | Traditional Turkish Art Price without pass €45 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction

Reservation Required Turkish Coffee Workshop | Making on Sand

Turkish Coffee Workshop | Making on Sand Price without pass €40 Discounted with Istanbul E-pass View attraction